MyMigraineConnection.com

See all our sites for your special health needs at www.HealthCentral.com

Migraine

Make a connection, ask a question, share a concern, give advice or just chat. Our message boards connect you with a community of people who understand where you’re coming from and what you’re going through.

Migraine Community  Hop To Forum Categories  MyMigraineConnection  Hop To Forums  Member Introductions    Newbie Here

Read-Only Read-Only Topic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Newbie Here
 Login/Join 
posted
Hi There

I am a 38 year old male from the UK who has been suffering with migraines since childhood.

I have been reading a number of posts on the forum and seem to find myself in the same position where my migraines/headaches have pretty much started to drive me to despair. I am at the point where I feel like both my work and home life is suffering greatly and I am not being the husband and father I want to be.

I have tried lots of preventatives including Pizotifen, Propranalol, Topirimate (topamax) and Amitriptyline - none of which have had much/any effect.

I have private healthcare through work and have been seeing a Neurologist. He referred to my symptoms as chronic daily headache/migraines with borderline triptan overuse. He was the one that prescribed Amitriptyline and I had and MRI (all clear) and a greater occipital nerve block, sadly with no joy Frowner

My next option is botox, which I will give a go, unfortunately my health company will not pay for this and I don't want to wait for the NHS, so will pay out of my own pocket - fingers crossed!

Currently I am waking with headaches most days, which will either gradually go off or get much worse. I am trying not to take too many imigran (sumatriptan), but on some days I have no choice. My headaches are also accompanied with uncomfortable neck aches that seem to radiate up the back of my head and the pressure points on my face are pretty much permanently tender.